Finally The Perfect White Cake

You may remember my recent obssession with white cake after watching Django Unchained. This is how I imagined it would look like up close and without the blood splatter.

mrs-billetts-white-cake-sl-lAfter my not so successful attempt I think I have finally worked out a white cake recipe to my liking that looks as white as the cake above without the extra lighting!

front shot white cake

my white cake

I used gluten free potato flour, coconut oil and only egg whites to keep everything as white as possible. For a three layer 8″ cake you’ll need:

  • 4 oz coconut oil
  • 8 oz caster sugar
  • 10 oz gluten free self raising flour
  • vanilla extract
  • 350 ml milk (when using potato flour a little extra moisture is needed)
  • 3 egg whites
  • I also flavoured my cake with lime juice which I thought would go well with the coconut.

Ok so preheat the oven to 180C/gas mark 4. Beat the coconut oil and sugar together.

sugar and coconut oil

white white white

Then add the milk and vanilla alternately with the flour to form a gloopy batter.

white cake batter

Beat the egg whites to form stiff peaks and fold this in carefully.

egg white two chicks

Then bake in the oven for 20-25 mins. Ideally pull the cakes out before they start to colour but a skewer comes out clean when poked into the cake.

double white cake

In between the layers I used a cream cheese frosting to keep things white, white, white.

white lime frosting

white enough for ya

White snowball cake

snowball white cake

Colleagues at work were exceedingly complimentary about this cake. Not sure if it was because they all knew how hard I had tried to perfect the recipe or whether it was the gluten free flour. Several people also mentioned that it was very filling. Definitely putting that down to the potato based flour. I can eat crumpets all day but can only ever manage a few potato cakes.