Two Kinds of Doughnuts

I know I’ve been a little quiet on the blog front but that doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten about it completely. I’ve still been out here and there taking pictures for the blog. With new motivation that’s hit me I’m going to try to put them up before it fades.

Right where do I start? Ok how about this. I changed phones recently so I’ll start with the photos on my old camera with the most recent first… Doughnuts.

IMAG4082 dounghnuttingIt was a sunny day and my friends and I were out having a Sunday lunch in the sun. We wondered how we could make the most of what could possibly have been the last sunshine of the season. The answer was donutting in Aldershot.

It’s a great place for cheap lessons if you’re thinking of going skiing this winter and want to make the most of it. Here’s a link to itskis

I’m going to kill two birds with one stone here. Another thing that popped up in my photo cluster was this.

mini doughnut

I found a great recipe for mini baked doughnuts. They’re healthy don’t you know. Well sort of and they are incredibly easy to make if you have a doughnut pan. I haven’t stopped making them since.

For 12 mini doughnuts you’ll need:

  • 75g (2½oz) plain flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 55g (2oz) caster sugar
  • 60ml (2¼fl oz) milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp olive oil (If preferred 10g (½oz) melted butter may be added in place of the olive oil)
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • Extra sugar for dusting
  1. Preheat the oven to 325°F/160°C/Gas 3. Lightly brush the doughnut pan with cooking oil.
  2. Take a large roomy bowl, and sift the flour, baking powder and salt into it. Add the sugar and give it a stir round to combine.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk the milk, beaten egg, olive oil (I used browned butter) and vanilla extract together and add this to the dry ingredients, mixing thoroughly.
  4. Using a piping bag, carefully fill each of the doughnut cups around ¾ full with the batter. Place in the oven and bake for about 8 minutes, or until firm, but springy to the touch. Cool slightly.

From here you can sugar them or ice them. I mixed the leftover browned butter to icing sugar and made a frosting to dip the tops of the doughnuts into. Sprinkled with chocolate while still a little wet et voila.

baked mini doughnutsnutella baked doughnutmini doughnutsmini doughnut IMAG3988 IMAG3986

Leave a comment