Daytripper

Oh the despair!!!

tuileries garden

Let me explain… On a midweek jaunt to Paris I had just walked through the Tuileries Garden on a beautiful crisp sunny February day ready to take a picture of the Louvre when my crappy phone decided to die on me. In my despair I stuck the phone in my armpit thinking that the warmth will charge the battery just enough to re-start it. And guess what .. it worked! I tapped on the camera app, lined up the shot and then…. ‘Phone shutting down’ with a time-spinny thing by the side of it. I gave it a couple more goes but alas. How I hate thee, spinny thing! If ever there was a reason to finally invest in a camera then this is it.

The day did start well, however, with breakfast at Le Pain Quotidien, King’s Cross. Phone was working and I managed to capture these:boiled egg and soldiers le pain quotidienMighty satisfying….finished egg with jam Boarding my train at King’s Crosskings cross international platformMy first stop once in Paris was the Musee de Arts et Metiersles arts et metiers metro

Home of the original metre measurement, immortalised in platinum. It looked a little shorter than expected in real-life.

original platinum metre arts et metiers

Zenobe Gramme – Inventor of the DC dynamo (yes, I’m a science geek)mr gramme

Yes we know the Statue of Liberty was a gift from you guys.

statue of liberty

 There was a demonstration of the effects of the Earth’s rotation on a pendulum but, my French not being up to standard, I had no idea what they were saying so took a few more pictures instead.IMAG3055Et voila… Foucault’s pendulum knocking over a blank…IMAG3058

Part of the museum was located in the chapel ….IMAG3059

IMAG3063

IMAG3065IMAG3066

bat flappy airplane

I thought this thing was about to turn his head to face me… creepy… glad he was kept behind glass.IMAG3071Next stop…

Pere Lachaise

For the famous cemetery, to continue the morbid thinking I had a couple in mind I wanted to see…Pere Lachaise cemetryYou know the day destroys the night, Night divides the day – JimMorrison, which I would have missed completely were it not for half a dozen other visitors marking the spot.Jim MorrisonAll the ills of mankind, all the tragic misfortunes that fill the history books, all the political blunders, all the failures of great leaders have arisen merely from a lack of skill at dancing – MoliereMoliereMoliereOthers were monumental yet beautiful…IMAG3097IMAG3099I caught a glimpse of another monument that reminded me that indeed I was in Paris.

Eiffel Tower

A beautiful day for walking around a cemetery

Per Lachaise on a sunny dayIMAG3101And finally… A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone’s feelings unintentionally – Oscar Wildewilde headstone pere lachaise

oscar wilde headwstoneoscar wilde graveThere’s a whole host of famous graves at Pere Lachaise cemetery. Have a look at this link if you’re thinking of going.

More about my daytrip to Paris next time….

Leave a Reply

