Spring Flours

So where should I start catching you up on what I’ve been up to the past few weeks. Well it’s about time I commented on the new season. We’ve had a couple of sunny days, the clocks have gone forward and Mother’s day passed without hitch. Although nothing says it’s spring like freshly sprung flowers.

cupcake flowers

bunch of cupcake flowersOk, ok they’re not real flowers but expertly (even if I do say so myself) iced cupcakes. Honestly you don’t actually have to be an expert. It was only my second time with a piping bag full of sugar and butter but after a few scraped off attempts I’m pretty pleased with how they turned out. Perfect for Mother’s day or any other day where flowers are appropriate.

daisy cakes chysanthemum cake

I used a polystyrene ball that fits snuggly perching on top of the rim of a flower pot.

polystrene ball

flower pot Then wrap each cupcake in green tissue papers and stick onto the flower pot using a couple of toothpicks. For a 15cm diameter flower pot I found room for 18 cupcakes tightly packed.

rose cupcake IMAG1558 IMAG1563 IMAG1571 chysanthemum cakesunflower cake

flower cupcake selection

Leave a Reply

