Thai fishcakes

Ok ok so last week I was preaching on about how there was still time to make a good start to the year. Well along with all the cakes, scones & pastries I’ve been eating recently I should also eat my words. However it’s 1 February today and another fresh start so I’ve packed my favourite low carb dish for lunch today. Thai fishcakes.

thai fish cake lunch

I’ve made these before adding extra chilli for a few of my mum’s friends who loved them so much that I was then ordered to make them again for another set of my mum’s friends. Luckily they’re easier to make than you think.

For the fish cakes you’ll need

    • 500g/1lb 2oz white fish such as cod, ling or pollock
  • 2 tbsp Thai fish sauce
  • 2 tbsp Thai red curry paste
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh coriander
  • 2 spring onions, finely sliced
  • 1 free-range egg
  • pinch dried chilli flakes
  • 1 lime, juice and zest

I wouldn’t pick an expensive white fish as the Thai ingredients overpower any other flavours. Start by preheating the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4. Blend all the ingredients either in a bowl or in a food processor.

thai fishcakes blended fishShape the mixture into small-ish balls. Wetting your hands will prevent the mixture sticking.shaped fishcakes

Then fry them off in a little oil to seal the edges. I used coconut oil to add a little more flavour.

IMAG1201 IMAG1202

Fry for 1 minute either side before putting them in the oven for 20 minutes.

IMAG1204 IMAG1207

One thought on “Thai fishcakes”

Leave a Reply

