Bengali Chicken Curry

This Saturday I invited a couple of my new friends over for a movie night-in. Now I believe it’s traditional to order a takeaway on nights like these. Well nothing would be more traditional than for a Bengali girl to cook up an Indian meal. Mummy would be so proud! Now I’ve never actually tried this before but I have seen my mum do it hundreds of times so I was quietly confident that all would go well.

So here goes. I started off by going down to the halal butchers as I wasn’t impressed with the too fatty and too watery supermarket chickens. Plus my mum really will be impressed when I tell her I bought a couple of baby halal chickens. I asked for the chickens to be skinned and chopped into pieces. I also picked up a few green chillies, naan bread and an onion.

When I got home I started cooking a good couple of hours early in case things did go wrong and I’d have to go pick up a pizza. First I got all the ingredients out

  • 1 medium onion
  • 1tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 tsp of chilli powder/flakes (more or less according to how hot you want it)
  • crushed garlic
  • crushed ginger
  • 1 green chilli
  • 1 medium chicken

Start by dicing the onion and adding this to medium hot pan and a splash of sunflower oil.

Add a dessertspoon of the crushed garlic and ginger and gently fry over a low heat. I used one cube of frozen ginger cubes. It’s alright my mum does the same except she makes her own ginger cubes with a lot of elbow grease and ice cube trays. Not sure if she’d approve of the crushed garlic from a squeezy tube though.

Add the spices along with a good pinch of salt and the green chilli and continue frying gently until the onions soften. Add a splash of water if the mixture is looking a little too dry.

When the spices release their fragrance, add the chicken making each piece is coated in spices.

Then gently simmer until the meat is cooked through. This should take around 30 mins.

I served the chicken with cauliflower curry with my own little twist. I started with the green tops of a bunch of spring onions to add colour. I stuck with a cube of ginger, a squirt of garlic and a dash of chilli powder . Then added the chopped cauliflower with a splash of water, put the lid on and simmered will it was cooked.

Then cook/warm up your breads, rice and serve alongside.

Lucky for me there was also a side order of a pretty sunset.

And the verdict; it was delicious. Could have been a little hotter perhaps and there was something else missing that I couldn’t put my finger on. It just wasn’t like my mum’s. So I called her up and she said it may have been the cardomom pods, bay leaf and cinnamon bark that I forgot to put in that may be the missing ingredients.

 

Leave a Reply

