Ricotta Hotcake Brunch

I woke up on Saturday morning with the sun blazing through my window which was great as I was hoping to take my guest on a boat trip. Now, although it sounded like a perfect way to spend a sunny afternoon I knew the rowing would be hard work so I came up with a cunning plan. I would cook a delicious breakfast which would provide all the strength one person needed to get us both down the river.

So I put on another film and gave him a cup of tea to keep him busy while I rattled around the kitchen to make ricotta hotcakes with honeycomb butter for brunch. To make your own you need the following:

  • 250g ricotta cheese
  • 125 ml semi skimmed milk
  • 2 large eggs, separated
  • 100g self raising flour

Put the ricotta, milk and egg yolks into a bowl and mix well to combine. Stir in the flour and gently whisk to make a smooth batter. Beat the egg whites until they become foamy – this isn’t hard work, even whisking by hand, which is all that’s needed here – and then fold them into the ricotta mixture. Then fry in a pan, I used butter to counteract the lack of fat in my skimmed milk, for about 1 minute then flip over.

For the honeycomb butter you’ll need:

  • 50g unsalted butter, softened
  • 25g sugar honeycomb, I used a crunchie bar
  • 1 tbsp honey

Bash the honeycomb with a rolling pin, mix with the other ingredients,  put in a pot and serve with your hotcakes

One thought on “Ricotta Hotcake Brunch”

Leave a Reply

